#blogblitz – The Accident by S.D. Monaghan @SeanMonaghan16 @bookouture #bookreview

I’m very pleased to be taking part in the blog blitz today for The Accident, S.D. Monaghan’s debut novel. Here’s what it’s all about:

One mistake could change your life forever.

Tara has it all. Married and about to move into her dream home, she can’t explain why she is tempted by one last fling with her ex before she settles down.

David would do anything for Tara. So when he finds her with another man, his world starts to crumble around him.

Ryan isn’t prepared for the punch David throws at him. Stumbling, he slips over the balcony and falls three storeys to the patio below.

In one split second a man will be killed. In one split second David and Tara’s life will change forever.

How far would you go to save everything you have?

A twist-filled thriller for fans of The Couple Next Door, T.M. Logan and Rachel Abbott.


The premise of this novel appealed to me instantly. It’s a look at how life can spiral out of control due to just one error of judgement, one mistake.

The main characters are David and Tara and we see things from both of their points of view throughout the story. David is a history lecturer and Tara is an artist. Their life is good and about to get even better until The Accident happens and Ryan falls off the balcony. David and Tara’s life together is about to become a nightmare.

The Accident is a thriller and personally I think it’s more of a crime one than a psychological one. It’s full of action from page 1 and is a race against time sort of story. It’s certainly fast paced and kept me wondering how on earth it was going to be wound up.

I didn’t take to any of the characters at all, I’m not sure I was meant to really. Because of that I didn’t really mind what happened to any of them but when I got to the end I thought it came to an appropriate conclusion.

This is a book that is like a winding country road – you never know what’s round the corner!

With thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for the review copy and to Noelle Holten for the place on the blog blitz. The Accident is available now from Amazon UK or Amazon US.


Why not have a look at the other blogs taking part in the blitz.


S.D. Monaghan grew up in Dublin before travelling extensively in Asia, Europe and America. After teaching English in Thailand for two years, he moved back to Ireland and gained an honours degree in psychology. While living in Canada for four years, he studied screenwriting in Toronto. S. D. Monaghan completed the Masters in Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin with the editorial guidance of the Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Ford and Orange Prize nominee, Deirdre Madden. On the strength of his work there, he was chosen to represent both the university and the Oscar Wilde Writers’Centre to read excerpts at the Dublin Publishers Festival and on Dublin Culture Night.  He lives in Dublin with his wife, where he is currently working on his new novel. He is represented by Zoe Ross at United Agents.

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *