ShortBookandScribes #BookReview – Flora’s Travelling Christmas Shop by Rebecca Raisin

Today I’m sharing my thoughts on my very first Rebecca Raisin book. My thanks to Sofia Saghir from Midas PR for sending me the book for review purposes. It’s published by HQ and out now.



’Tis the season for mulled wine, mince pies, and magic under the mistletoe…

Flora loves Christmas more than anything else in the world, so she’s gutted when her Scrooge-alike boss fires her from Deck the Halls Christmas emporium. But now she finally has a chance to follow her dreams – and what better place to start than the home of Christmas?

Before she can say ‘sleigh bells’, Flora’s on her way to Lapland in a campervan-cum-Christmas-shop. She can’t wait to spend her days drinking hot chocolate and taking reindeer-drawn carriage rides, but something Flora didn’t expect was meeting Connor, a Norse god of a man who makes her heart flutter and snowflakes swirl in her stomach. There’s just one problem: Connor hates Christmas.

Can Flora convince Connor of the joys of Christmas – and will she find a festive romance along the way?

The perfect Christmas romance for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Colgan.



Flora’s Travelling Christmas Shop is my first Rebecca Raisin book. I’m now questioning why this is and why I didn’t realise how much I would love her gorgeous writing.

Flora is a bit of a calamity and if I’m truthful I wasn’t sure if I was going to take to her or if she was just going to annoy me (it’s the former – I ended up loving her to bits). In the first chapters of the book she’s working at Deck the Halls Christmas emporium but she’s just too nice and keeps getting into trouble. Christmas, for Flora, is life and she wants everybody else to love it as much as she does. When she loses her job she decides to be a Van Lifer, to go to Lapland, get a van and fill it with Christmas goodies to sell. I love the concept of this and the idea of a Christmas fanatic going somewhere so very Christmassy!

There’s such a lovely feeling amongst the Van Lifers (with a few notable exceptions). Flora meets Connor who is quite clearly somebody pretty special even if she doesn’t realise it immediately. These two main characters were so perfectly drawn, opposites with a magnetic pull between them. In fact, Connor might just have found his way onto my favourite book boyfriend list. There’s something so lovely about the way they are around each other, set against the most magical backdrop of a Christmas market and snowy reindeer rides.

I didn’t expect to laugh as much as I did reading this book. The author has a very witty way about her writing which appealed to my sense of humour greatly. When I closed the book I did so with a contented smile on my face having read a really heart-warming and light festive read which was an absolute joy to spend time with. I totally recommend this one for this time of year.



Rebecca Raisin writes heartwarming romance from her home in sunny Perth, Australia. Her heroines tend to be on the quirky side and her books are usually set in exotic locations so her readers can armchair travel any day of the week. The only downfall about writing about gorgeous heroes who have brains as well as brawn, is falling in love with them – just as well they’re fictional. Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships and believe in true, once in a lifetime love. Her bestselling novel Rosie’s Travelling Tea Shop has been optioned for film with MRC studios and Frolic Media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.